Gorgeous Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms

Gorgeous-Caramelized-Onions-and-Mushrooms

 

So, it’s the end of the week and you have a fridge full of leftovers…Sometimes all those leftovers need is a quick pick me up – like mushrooms and onions.

They are great with leftover mashed potatoes, perfect on all kinds of meats and my personal favorite – mixed with green beans or broccoli.

Clever…right? You’re welcome.

Caramelized-Onions---Adding-Oil---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Preheat the frying pan to medium high.

Add a couple turns around the pan of extra virgin olive oil. Probably one-ish tablespoons. Very technical I know…

Caramelized-Onions---Adding-Mushrooms---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Drop in 1 carton of sliced baby belle mushrooms.

Caramelized-Onions---Adding-Onions---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Add one sliced onion.

Try and get all the onions in the pan – unlike me. I missed…

Caramelized-Onions---Adding-Sugar---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Add 1 tsp of sugar.

I always add sugar anytime I make onions. It’s just one of those thangs man.

What can I say…I’m crazy like that.

Caramelized-Onions---Adding-Butter---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Add 2 tbsp of butter. Butter just makes life so much better.

FYI – My butter is always salted – always!!

So get this – All the hard work is finished.

I know…You have to love a recipe that is this easy and makes your home smell this good!!

Saute for 10 minutes on medium high – stirring only occasionally.

Drop the heat to medium low and cook for 20 more minutes.

Caramelized-Onions---Spices---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

During the last 10 minutes of cooking add 1/2 tsp of pepper and 1/2 tsp of salt. You can add more or less depending on taste.

But seriously don’t add too much salt…you’ll get all bloated then blame me and frankly I just can’t take that much pressure. So just don’t do it alright! Geez…

Caramelized-Onions---Close-Up---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Then you’ll get this!!

Time for a happy dance…

Caramelized-Onions---Oso---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

That’s what Oso thinks of my happy dance…you can see it in his eyes, he thinks I’m nuts…

He’s probably onto something.

Caramelized-Onions---Pouring-Wine---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

This is optional – but highly recommended.

Turn the heat up to medium high.

Add about a splash or two of your favorite red wine to deglaze the pan.

Cook until the wine has incorporated into the onions.

Caramelized-Onions---Beautiful---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

I mean…come on!!

Seriously, do you see the color of this dish – the caramelized onions and mushrooms.

Life is looking pretty good right about now.

So there you have it. Over and out!

Until next time…I’m off to dance with my kids.

Be Blessed, Stay Blessed and remember don’t forget to laugh at yourself or someone will do it for you.

Love, L.

3 thoughts on “Gorgeous Caramelized Onions and Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

