Are You A Crazy Pet Owner???

Hello Lovelies,

I woke up this morning in the mood for some light-hearted pet facts.

That’s not true, actually I woke up in the mood for an excuse to stay in bed, or a milky way candy bar or a pizza…Don’t ask….

But since that didn’t work out so well I decided to look up completely irrelevant, somewhat interesting, mildly disturbing, light-hearted pet facts.

So if you’re not eating pizza, enjoying a milky way or sleeping it’s time to see if you qualify as the world’s best pet owner…

Oso-at-Christmas

How many can you check off this list??

  • Nine in ten pet owners surveyed say they consider their pet a member of the family.
  • 63% of dog owners and 58% of cat owners surveyed said they give their pets presents at Christmas.
  • Americans spend about $5 billion on holiday presents for their furry friends.
  • 40% of dog owners and 37% of cat owners hang Christmas stockings for their pets.
  • 36% of dog owners give their pets presents on their birthday, as do 20% of cat owners.
  • About one-quarter of both dog owners (27%) and cat owners (23%) sign their pet’s name on greeting cards or notes.
  • 64% of surveyed pet owners said they include news about their pet, and 36% include a photograph. in their holiday cards.
  • About 27% of pet owners claim to have taken their pet to a professional photographer to have a picture taken with family, Santa, or the Easter Bunny.
  • About a third (37%) of dog owners and a similar proportion of cat owners (31%) have their pet’s picture prominently displayed in their homes, and 14% and 10%, respectively, display it at their place of work.
  • About 10% of both dog and cat owners carry their pet’s picture in their wallet or purse.
  • In about 20% of both dog and cat households, the TV, radio, or stereo is left on when the animals are left alone, presumably so they don’t get lonely.
  • 16% of dog owners and 14% of cat owners claim to have bought a car or home with a pet in mind.

I am guilty, guilty, guilty of it all!!!

How did you score??

Until next time…I’d rather stay at home and nurse an unhealthy attachment to my dog than socialize with people.  🙂

Be blessed, stay blessed and remember if you don’t laugh at yourself, someone will do it for you!

Love, L.

These statistics are copied from Petfinder.com – Gracias Petfinder!!!

4 thoughts on “Are You A Crazy Pet Owner???

  1. I guess I am a crazy dog owner too! We do not display any kind of photographs in our house and Christmas stockings are not hanged here in Belgium but we did get our pet a big bone for Christmas and we will do something similar for his 1 year birthday (on March 21st!), when asked news about our “family” we include news about him and I bought my car thinking “will he fit in the trunk?”. He’s our baby and we are crazy about him, I know you’re supposed to consider pets an “object” and use “it” while speaking/writing but our precious Woola is more of a person/family member than a regular animal to us :p

    Like

    • That’s so cool. I wouldn’t know what to do if I didn’t have one of my fur kids under foot. Besides..who would I talk to??? Haha 🙂
      What kind of doggie do you have? Oso is obviously a rottweiler and I just so happens TODAY is his birthday 🙂

      Have a lovely day!! Love, L.

      Like

      • Happy birthday to Oso! 🙂
        We have a Samoyed, he’s very sweet and he lets me cuddle him. Plus, he doesn’t mind when I speak to him in baby voices! haha

        Like

      • Duh!!…He was right there in your photo – I looked right at him and didn’t see him!! He is too cute – Oh my. What a cuddle bug – I imagine he super soft.

        Have a great day and Happy cuddling!!
        Love, L.

        Like

Leave a Reply

