Top 5 Reasons to Hang with Salvador Dali in St. Petersburg Florida

Hello Lovelies,

Traveling is a passion shared by my entire family.  We love to travel and travel we do.  Even if it is simply a day trip to St. Petersburg, Florida, the enjoyment rings true just the same.

Dali Brochure Cover

Today’s road trip brought us to a magical-ificent venue.  See what I did there – this place is so amhazing I had to combine two great words together just to introduce you to…

Salvador Dali, The Big D, Dali, Dali Salvador, D-diddly do wop de bop….”YO Sal, What’s up?” That’s what I’d say if I was way cooler and saw him on the street.  No, I wouldn’t that’s preposterous.  And so the story goes…

Salvador Dali was a Spanish painter who lived from 1904 – 1989.

He is known for his eccentric behavior and the shocking quality of his imagination.

If you want more technical information regarding him you can visit thedali.org.

For this piece I am going to talk from my heart about what fascinated myself and my family about The Great Dali.  I hope you enjoy.

Dali-Museum-2013---Sky-Bridge---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Our first delight with St. Petersburg was crossing over the Sunshine Skyway Bridge.  4.1 miles long and supposedly one of the “Top 10 bridges” in the world. Check, only 9 more…now only if I knew where they are located.

Dali-Museum-2013---Entrance---LaurelsLovelyLiving.comDali-Museum-2013---Garden---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Once at the Dali museum our arrival was greeted by a fun filled door welcoming us in various languages along with the most beautiful wall of flowers.

True Story – Everytime I went to snap a photo of the door someone would come walking out of the museum.  It’s alright though, because now I have my yearly quota of “people walking through a door” photos – so clearly it wasn’t a complete waste of my time.

Dali-Museum-2013---Me-2---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

For clarification purposes, that’s me.

The building was breathtaking as you can see, modern and uplifting.  The energy in the building was so positive, I suppose it would be hard to be grumpy with all that fresh sunlight pouring down upon you.  Although, I’m sure there are some folks who are up for the challenge…Uh-hum…

Dali-Museum-2013---Brochure-3--LaurelsLovelyLiving.comDali-Museum-2013---Brochure-4---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

Here is a map of the museum for your enjoyment.  Read at your leisure.

Brochure Exhibit Area Dali

This is where the fun begins.  Prior to heading upstairs (that’s where the art lives) we received head phones with a nifty little box that knew a whole lot about Dali.

Various pieces throughout the museum where marked with a number.  Once you punched that number into the device you were met with a treat of an explanation regarding that particular piece of art.

In addition to the adult explanation there were customized more animated versions for the children.  My boys preferred the adult versions but I listened to a few of the children’s versions and they were delightful.  Oh, how I love technology!!

Dali-Museum-2013---Santiago-De-Grande---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

And now here is what you have been waiting for…Drum Roll Please:

My Top 5 reasons I love Dali and therefore you should too!!

1.  The fact that my favorite piece of art requires and accent and flair of the hands to properly pronounce – Santiago El Grande. I think Mariachi’s should come out of a hallway for the complete effect.

2.  He loves to hide things in his art.  Nieuw Amsterdam is the bust of White Eagle sculpted by Charles Schreyvogel then painted on 75 years later by Dali.  Dali transforms White Eagle’s face into an interior setting where two Dutch gentlemen toast each other.  This however, is not readily visible.  It takes a moment to realize it’s not war paint on White Eagle’s face but instead dinner time.  Cleverly impressive!!

3.  He has good old fashion God given talent.  Not the paint-by-numbers talented like I have, but real talent.  Several of his paintings look as though they were taken by a camera.  His art comes alive when you look at it.

4.  You can actually stare at his art.  Let me explain…You know when you see someone staring at a piece of art that looks as if an elephant painted it and they seem so engaged…you wonder to yourself, “Self – Is it me or them?”.  Then hope it’s them because if it’s you then you’re in trouble.  Well, not his art.  His art has such depth and thought put into every piece you’re bound to discover something new each time you look at it.  Aside from some nudity, which we embrace, his art is wonderful for children because it lends itself to their depth of imagination.  Our boys 10 and 11 absolutely LOVED it!!

5.  This one is my favorite – He was madly, head over heels in love with his wife, Gala.  She can be found in a great deal of his paintings and she always looks so beautiful.  She was his muse and the love of his life.  And really, is there anything better than LOVE??

So there you have it.  5 fantastic reasons to run off and visit Dali.  Or at least google him…

Dali-Museum-2013---Exit---LaurelsLovelyLiving.com

And so lovely, as we exit the building, this is where we shall part ways on this fine day.

I hope you enjoyed our day trip!

Until-Next-Time

~ I’m off to find my paint by numbers – I feel inspired!!

Be Blessed, Stay Blessed and remember if you don’t laugh at yourself someone will do it for you!

Love, L.

For current pricing & hours of operation I suggest you visit the Dali Museum Website at thedali.org

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Reasons to Hang with Salvador Dali in St. Petersburg Florida

Leave a Reply

