Homemade Chicken Broth –mm-mm Good!!

Chicken Stock

I opened my freezer yesterday and to my dismay I only had one container of homemade chicken broth left.

How could this happen?  I swore I had just made some fairly recently.  I then hugged my last container goodbye, used it in my recipe and swore to avenge its death with a new batch of soup.

Here’s the recipe I use for Homemade Chicken Broth.

I’ve been using this recipe for years and it turns out perfect every time.

It just works and that’s what makes cooking super fun!

BML_0290

First things First – The stock pot – Make sure it’s a Big Daddy of a Pot!!

BML_0291

I use newspaper when dealing with the birds so I don’t get their yucky all over my cutting board and counter.

As you can see I also use gloves, I don’t like to get their yucky on my hands either, grody.

I always ask papi to remove the innards from the birds, unfortunately he was not home so I had to do it.

So I put on my big girl pants, sucked it up and went for it..

Gag me with a spoon, I actually positioned the garbage can next to the counter, closed my eyes really tight, reached in, pulled the innards out, gagged, tossed the insides away and covered them with paper so I didn’t accidental sneak a peek.  (I am just trying to be real here, not everything is glamorous in my kitchen).

Don’t be mad at me for not saving the innards – we all have our limits!!

BML_0294

Meet Fred, Don and Jack.

You will need three whole chickens approximately 5 lbs each.

Note: They don’t have to be named Fred, Don or Jack any old bird will do.

Put them in your stock pot and get ready to cover them in deliciousness…

BML_0302

And now the fixin’s’:  3 large onions, 8 unpeeled carrots, 4 stalks of celery, 4 unpeeled parsnips, 1 head of garlic, 10 sprigs fresh thyme, 20 sprigs fresh parsley, 25 sprigs fresh dill, 2 tablespoons kosher salt and 2 tablespoons whole black peppercorns.

Please wash them first – except for the onion, garlic, salt and pepper, that might cause you some complications…

 

BML_0306

Add the dill, you don’t have to chop it.  Easy breezy!!

BML_0308

Add the parsley, so you see a pattern here…Guess what’s next.

BML_0309

The thyme…

BML_0310

Then the unpeeled parsnips.  I cut them in thirds.

BML_0312

The unpeeled carrots, cut in thirds or fourths or fifths or sixths.

Really it doesn’t matter just cut them please.

BML_0314

The cut celery.

BML_0317

The onions – unpeeled and quartered.

BML_0319

The entire head of garlic cut in half, skin and all.

BML_0333

The kosher salt.

Look at those cute little boy fingers.  I love my boys helping in the kitchen!!

BML_0345

The peppercorns…Do not add ground pepper – the peppercorns are for flavor only.  They will be strained once the soup is cooked.

You would end up with pepper soup if you did that!!  Then you’d have to sit and pick out all the ground pepper while thinking bad things about me and the whole process would take forever so kindly just use whole peppercorns and trust me.

BML_0351

Water – 7 quarts.

BML_0358

There you have it.  Give your spoon a spin around the pot…

BML_0360

Put on a lid, turn your stove on high and set your timer for 4 hours…

BML_0368

Ah, Ah, Ah – not so fast one more step.  Stay with me here or you’ll have soup boiling all over your kitchen.

As soon as it starts to boil turn your stove to simmer, take off the lid and let it go to town.

Now you can sit back, make some tea, grab a book and relax until your timer goes off.

Some delightful, delicious, wonderfulness is coming your way!!

BML_0370

And there you have it, Perfection!!  Utter perfection!!

I promised you it would be great didn’t I?

Pull your soup off the stove and let it cool down.

Once it has cooled enough to reasonably handle then it is time strain your soup.

BML_0374

The easiest way I have found to strain the soup is to use another stock pot and strainer.  This way you don’t lose any of the juice from the chicken and vegetables.

As you are moving the contents from one pot to another take a moment here and there to compress the solids.  This way you get the most bang for you buck of chicken stock.

BML_0441

This is an optional step.

If you choose to save the meat which I hope you will.  Reach right in the pot as you are straining the solids and pull the meat out with two forks and shred.

This meat is extremely tender, juicy and full of flavor.  It will be great in all kinds of recipes.

BML_0417

My largest strainer’s holes are quite large, this is why I take this additional step to make sure my stock is free of debris.

I think it’s worth it.

BML_0436

And there you have it, the result of your labor.  Great job my friend!!

I am jumping up and down singing your praises because I am so proud of you!!

Once these guys are cooled they will go for a slumber directly into my freezer.  They will not pass go or collect $200.00 dollars!

So for now I hope you enjoyed my first recipe blog.  I was trying to make it simple enough so that even the most novice of chefs could follow along and the most advanced of chefs would enjoy the ride.

Remember, doing something imperfectly is better than doing nothing perfectly!!

Have fun in your kitchen, laugh at your mistakes, rejoice in your victories and remember when worse comes to worse you can always order a pizza!!

Until next time…I’m off to clean my kitchen.

Be blessed, stay blessed and remember if you don’t laugh at yourself someone will do it for you.

Love, L.

Homemade Chicken Broth

 Ingredients:

  •   3 (4 to 5 lb.) whole chickens – Don’t forget to remove the innards
  •   3 large onions
  •   1 head of garlic
  •   8 unpeeled carrots
  •   5 stalks of celery
  •   4 parsnips
  •   10 sprigs of fresh thyme
  •   20 sprigs fresh parsley
  •   25 sprigs fresh dill
  •   2 tablespoons kosher salt
  •   2 whole black peppercorns

Directions:

  1. Wash and chop the carrots, celery, parsnips, thyme, parsley and dill.
  2. Place the chickens, onions, garlic, carrots, celery, parsnips, thyme, parsley, dill, kosher salt and peppercorns in at least a 16 quart stockpot.
  3. Add 7 quarts of water and bring to a boil.
  4. Once the water is boiling, uncover the pot and place on simmer for 4 hours.
  5. Strain the entire contents of the pot through a colander.
  6. Optional step:  You can shred the chicken and save for future meals.
  7. Discard the solids.
  8. Place in containers.
  9. Use immediately or store in the freezer.
Leave a Reply

